Wednesday, 7 July 2021

2021 Parliamentary Jazz Award nominations

The nominations have today been announced for the 2021 Parliamentary Jazz Awards
The Awards, organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG) with the support of PizzaExpress Live. The recipients of the 2021 Parliamentary Jazz Awards will be announced online on Monday 26th July 2021. The Parliamentary Awards celebrate and recognise the vibrancy, diversity, talent and breadth of the jazz scene throughout the United Kingdom

Following the online public vote for the Awards, the shortlist was then voted upon by a selection panel, that represent a broad cross-section of backgrounds united in their passion and knowledge of jazz. The winners, chosen by judging members of the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG), will be announced on Monday 26th July 2021.

John Spellar MP, Co-Chair of APPJAG, said: "These awards are a great opportunity to celebrate the talents and energies of the great musicians, educators, promoters, record labels, jazz organisations, blogs, jazz magazines and journalists who kept jazz flourishing, in spite of the challenges they faced in 2020.  In a year of hardship, unparalleled in the last 76 years, these shortlists demonstrate the wealth of talent and commitment that exists in the British jazz scene. Now in its 16th year, the Parliamentary Jazz Awards honour the best of British jazz. MPs and Peers in the All Party Group are grateful to PizzaExpress Live for supporting the event.”

The full list of nominees is as follows:

Jazz Vocalist of the Year

Claire Martin,  Brigitte Beraha,  Georgia Mancio

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year

Tony Kofi, Adrian Cox, Nubya Garcia

Jazz Album of the Year

Byron Wallen 'PORTRAIT: Reflections on Belonging' , Callum Au & Claire Martin 'Songs and Stories, Nubya Garcia 'Source'   

Jazz Ensemble of the Year

Kansas Smitty’s House Band,  Nigel Price Organ Trio/Quartet, Kokoroko

Jazz Newcomer of the Year

Jas Kayser   

Rosie Frater-Taylor, Deschanel Gordon  , Alex Clarke 

Jazz Venue of the Year

Colchester Arts Centre Jazz Club, 606 Club, Kansas Smitty’s , Peggy's Skylight -  - Live jazz and kitchen Nottingham   

Jazz Media Award

Jazzwise Magazine, Women In Jazz Media, London Jazz News 

Jazz Education Award

The Original UK Jazz Summer School, Nikki Yeo, Pete Churchill

Services to Jazz Award

Steve RubieNorma Winstone, Digby Fairweather

Lockdown Innovation Award

Liam Noble  - Saturday Lockdown Live Sessions, Joe Stilgoe's 'Stilgoe in the Shed' 100 shows , Adrian Cox's Sunday Service, The Globe Newcastle upon Tyne 

Congratulations to The Globe in Newcastle for their nomination (the only Northern nomination this year)

No comments:

Post a Comment