Tuesday, 10 March 2015

Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2015

This year’s Parliamentary Jazz Awards took place in a buzzing Terrace Pavilion at the Houses of Parliament on Tuesday 10 March, two months early than usual due to the upcoming General Election on 7 May. The awards, which are organised by All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG), PPL and Jazz Services are now in their eleventh year, and were presented by well-known broadcaster and jazz fan Moira Stuart to a packed room of leading jazz musicians, industry professionals and jazz-loving parliamentarians.

The winners are as follows with links to the websites for each:

Jazz Album of the Year: Swamp by Partisans

Jazz Venue of the Year: St Ives Jazz Club

Jazz Ensemble of the Year: Engines Orchestra

Jazz Education Award: National Youth Jazz Orchestra

Jazz Media Award: London Jazz News website

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year: Laura Jurd

Jazz Vocalist of the Year: Norma Winstone;

Services To Jazz: Chris Hodgkins

Jazz Newcomer of the Year: Peter Edwards; 

APPJAG Special Award: Peter Ind

For more info go to www.ppluk.com/

Our congratulations from the NORVOLJAZZ network to Mike Gordon who was shortlisted for the Services to Jazz award for all his work at Scarborough Jazz and for the Scarborough Jazz Festival - what a terrific supporter of the Jazz scene!

No comments:

Post a Comment