Friday, 6 February 2015

Mike Gordon, MJF and Phil Meadows nominated!

Mike Gordon

The nominations have today been announced for the 2015 Parliamentary Jazz Awards organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG)**.

Nice to see a couple of people from the Northern Jazz Scene - nominated awards for the Parliamentary Jazz awards 2015. Scarborough Jazz Festival's (and NorvolJazz member) Mike Gordon is put forward for "Services to Jazz" award- well done Mike- also Manchester (and ex Leeds College of Music) saxman Phil Meadows is up for for his Engines Orchestra as Jazz Ensemble of the year . Manchester Jazz Festival is also in there for a possible award as "Venue of the Year".  Let's hope they win!

Following the online public vote for the Awards via the Jazz Services website, the shortlist was then voted upon by the Selection Panel who represent a broad cross-section of backgrounds united in their love and knowledge of jazz. The winners are chosen by judging members of APPJAG in Parliament and will be announced at the awards ceremony which will take place at the House of Commons, Terrace Pavilion on Tuesday 10 March.

The full list of nominees is as follows:

Jazz Vocalist of the Year                  
Alice Zawadzki
Georgia Mancio
Norma Winstone MBE
Zara McFarlane

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year        
Jason Yarde
Laura Jurd
 Phil Robson

Jazz Album of the Year                    
 Partisans ‘Swamp’
Julian Arg├╝elles ‘Circularity’
Tim Garland ‘Songs to the North Sky’

Jazz Ensemble of the Year                
Engines Orchestra
Loose Tubes

Jazz Newcomer of the Year              
Blue-Eyed Hawk
Elliot Galvin Trio
Peter Edwards

Jazz Venue of the Year          
Manchester Jazz Festival
Spice of Life
St Ives Jazz Club

Jazz Media Award                            
 Jazz on 3, BBC Radio 3
London Jazz News,
The Jazz Breakfast,

Jazz Education Award                      
Dr. Tommy Smith
National Youth Jazz Orchestra
Simon Purcell

Services to Jazz Award                    
Chris Hodgkins
Evan Parker
Mike Gordon

**APPJAG currently has over 100 members from the House of Commons and House of Lords across all political parties. Their aim is to encourage wider and deeper enjoyment of jazz, to increase Parliamentarians’ understanding of the jazz industry and issues surrounding it, to promote jazz as a musical form and to raise its profile inside and outside Parliament.  The Group’s officers are Co-Chairs Michael Connarty MP and Lord Colwyn, Secretary, Baroness Coussins and Vice Chair Kelvin Hopkins MP.

No comments:

Post a Comment