Tuesday, 1 April 2014

The Parliamentary Jazz nominations....

Good to see northern nominations for the 2014 Parliamentary Jazz award - Arun Ghosh and Mike Walker in the jazz instrumentalist of the year section, Beats and Pieces in the Jazz Ensemble of the Year category, Manchester Jazz Festival as one of the Jazz Venues of the year (interesting that all three venue nominations this year were festivals rather than clubs...) Phil Meadows in the Jazz newcomes, and two Yorkshire nominations in the Jazz education section - both highly deserving - John Ellis and the Doncaster Youth Jazz Orchestra and Leeds College of Music.

Well done, now let us see some of these as the final winners! The winners will be announced at the House of Commons on Tuesday 13 May

Here's the full list

Jazz Vocalist of the Year
Christine Tobin
Lauren Kinsella
Norma Winstone MBE
Zara McFarlane

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year
Arun Ghosh
Laura Jurd
Mike Walker

Jazz Album of the Year
Mark Lockheart, ‘Ellington In Anticipation’
Soweto Kinch, ‘The Legend Of Mike Smith’
Troykestra, ‘Live At Cheltenham 13 Jazz Festival’

Jazz Ensemble of the Year
Beats & Pieces Big Band
Kairos 4tet
Sons of Kemet

Jazz Newcomer of the Year
Lauren Kinsella, Thought-Fox
Phil Meadows
Reuben Fowler Big Band

Jazz Venue of the Year
EFG London Jazz Festival
Love Supreme Jazz Festival
Manchester Jazz Festival

Jazz Media Award
‘Dizzy Gillespie Was At My Wedding: Jubilance and Woe’ by Dick Pearce
Jamie Cullum

Jazz Education Award
Issie Barratt, National Youth Jazz Collective
John Ellis, Doncaster Youth Jazz Association
Leeds College of Music

Services to Jazz Award
David Redfern
Evan Parker
John Taylor

Details http://www.jazzservices.org.uk/index.php/jazz-services-blog/item/893-2014-parliamentary-jazz-awards-nominations-announced


  1. It must be pointed out that Reuben Fowler (also best newcomer) is not only a Northerner but hails from Wakefield !

  2. Indeed he is. Just checking to see if you are all awake out there....