Follow by Email

Thursday, 12 November 2020

James Hamilton releases the Yorkshire Suite - at last!

“Yorkshire Suite” is the fourth release from James Hamilton Jazz Orchestra on New Jazz Records. Part of a set of live recordings from Seven Arts Leeds in 2015 that have been gathering digital dust on a hard drive waiting to be mixed. It’s taken a global pandemic to help them finally see the light of day. Hamilton was commissioned in 2014 to write a suite of music for the Yorkshire Festival to celebrate the life of Jazz Yorkshire. The result is this four part work reflecting on the feelings, people and places of Yorkshire. The brief was to compose a multi-part suite with each movement increasing in difficulty in order to be accessed by youth bands of varying levels. This isn’t a subtle nuanced work of contemporary jazz, there’s a back catalogue from JHJO where you can already find that, it’s an unashamedly “heart on it’s sleeve” tour de force of cheesy big band music, drawing inspiration from Hamilton's past playing in  youth bands.

The release is currently available for pre-order with the track “Thrifty” immediately available for download. The rest of the E.P. will release on 7th December 2020 alongside study scores, parts and multitracks available to download for pay what you want from

All JHJO releases are available for PWYW above the cost of production.

Saxophones: Mark Ellis, Cat Miles, Matt Anderson, Will Howard, Rob Mitchell

Trumpets: Gareth Smith, Simon Dennis, Kim Macari, Simon Beddoe

Trombones: Matt Ball, Stuart Garside, Tom I'anson, Chris Dale

Guitar: Harry Orme | Piano: Aron Kyne | Bass: John Marley | Drums: Steve Hanley

No comments:

Post a Comment